Korat-Farang.com

Vaccine at Central

ridge runner · 7 · 288

Online ridge runner

Just received email with appointment for vaccination. Because of the 3 month wait since I applied I decided to get the sinovac plus astra when it was offered by local clinic. Anybody used this for a booster shot or not allowed? I've emailed hospital but not sure I will get a response.

Online Roger

• Administrator
  • Wisdom in Forum
Hello RR. I'm no expert but if this helps . . . .

The Sinovac vaccine only gives limited protection which is why the Th. Govt have offered AZ for the second shot - it increases the level of protection but that's still below the levels of protection from 2 x AZ or 2 x Pfizer or 2 x Moderna.

If you intend to travel out of Thailand, your Sinovac may NOT be accepted as one of the two jabs needed for the presumption of being 'fully vaxed'.

The term 'Booster' normally applies to a 3rd jab - e.g. I'm double jabbed (in the UK) with Pfizer now and will try to get a 'booster' in Thailand 6 months after the date of my 2nd, (as is recommended).

If you are staying in Thailand for the foreseeable future, Sinovac + AZ is an option but it's not as good as the other options.

Checking that you know even with double OR triple jabs, you can still get Covid infection, (but usually it's less serious).

Take care and hope that helps. AIMHO
''If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough'' - Albert Einstein

Offline Alfie

• Forum Guru
Roger, my interpretation of RR's post is that he has already had the Sinovac and Astra shots and is wondering if he could use the Pfizer jab (which he now has an apointment for) as a booster jab.

Roger, you are right about the Sinovac probably not being accepted in some countries but the last time I read the UK guiadance, neither was Astra is if was not from a certain few countries (UK, US, Australia, etc), so even a double Astra from Thailand would not be good enough for the UK.