Korat-Farang.com

Roman Catholic? What do you think of all this?

Roger · 15 · 671

Online Roger

• KFers beyond Korat
  • Forum Wizard
In the film 'Spotlight', the story of the Boston Globe uncovering systematic abuse by Priests, an empassioned Mike Rezendes, the investigator, shouts at one point, ''they knew, and they let it all happen''. That seems the nub of it. And for MANY decades . . .

I'm not a Catholic - my only experience with an RC Priest after losing a young Child, was the comforting words, 'never mind, you can have another one'. And seeking a good environment for discipiline, my 3 boys went briefly to an RC school before being moved as too much 'hell and damnation' was upsetting them. I have no other direct experience of the Church.

At the end of the Spotlight film there's a frame showing a list of every major city in the USA and a mooted number of 'suspect' Priests. It was shocking. In Boston they expected to find 6, that moved to 13, 90 and then over 200. In Boston, only Boston.
The abuse is 'insitutionalized' going back many decades - maybe forever ?

We all see the Pope in Ireland atm, truly contrite in every way - except I hear the files in the Vatican have not been opened up.

Colm O'Gorman in the Guardian has written about his experiences :-

''I remember the last papal visit to Ireland. It was 1979, and I was aged 13. I went to a Christian Brothers school. I sang at mass every Sunday, occasionally did readings, and the youth group I attended every week took place in a convent.

I remember being envious because my older brother and sister got to see the pope, but I didn’t. I was in the minority in that regard: a staggering 75% of the population saw John Paul II during his three-day visit. One-third of the population attended the papal mass in Dublin’s Phoenix Park. That event remains the largest single mobilisation of people in Irish history.